Active Transportation Plan Continues

STA recently launched a year and a half-long effort to create a new countywide plan for walking and biking throughout Solano County. To ensure that the updated Countywide Active Transportation Plan reflects the needs of Solano County residents in all seven cities, your input is needed! Check out to provide input on needed improvements to biking and walking by using the interactive Wikimap or attend one of the remaining community events to provide feedback in person!

Vacaville Jepson Parkway Ribbon Cutting Ceremony

On November 2, 2018, the City of Vacaville and the Solano Transportation Authority (STA) celebrated the completion of the newest section of Vacaville’s portion of the Jepson Parkway Project. Many Solano County dignitaries gathered for a ribbon cutting ceremony for another important segment of the 12-mile reliever route, a Complete Streets Project, aimed to improve intercounty mobility for Solano County residents. Upon completion, the entire Jepson Parkway Project consists of the construction of a four-lane roadway from the State Route 12 and Walters Road intersection in Suisun City to the Interstate 80/Leisure Town Road interchange in Vacaville. The new section of roadway features a roundabout intersection at Vanden and Leisure Town Road, and will join the new section of Foxboro Parkway currently under construction, and safety improvements such as new medians, traffic signals, shoulders and a separate sidewalk for pedestrians. Funding will be allocated by STA to the City of Vacaville to construct the final segment of the Vacaville section from Elmira Road to Orange Drive beginning in 2022.

STA Welcomes New Program Coordinator

Katelyn Costa joined the STA on November 16th as a Program Coordinator specializing in the Employer Program. A recent UC Davis graduate and now Vacaville resident, she is passionate about encouraging alternative modes of transportation in the name of health and safety. Katelyn reports to Lloyd Nadal, Program Services Division Manager at STA.

2018 STA Annual Award Winners

The winners of the Solano Transportation Authority’s 21st Annual Awards were announced at a ceremony on November 14, 2018 held at the Joseph Nelson Community Center in Suisun City.
“This was an evening to celebrate transportation improvements in Solano County that are already making a difference to our residents. We honored the many efforts of the cities, partner agencies and individuals who championed and delivered transportation projects and programs in our local communities this year,” stated STA Chair Pete Sanchez.

2018 STA Awards Winners

International Walk to School Day 2018

October 10th was International Walk to School Day and STA’s Safe Routes to School (SR2S) Program staff teamed up with Solano County Public Health and 7 local school districts to participate in the event by organizing walks to and from school. Over 8,500 students in 48 schools across Solano County participated by getting out of their cars and walking to school. Thank you to everyone that helped organize and participate in this event! Check out the Safe Routes to School website and Facebook page for more details!