More Information about the AVA Program

STA Contact:
Susan Furtado
Accounting/Administrative Services Manager
(707) 399-3208

The Abandoned Vehicle Abatement (AVA) Program is a California Highway Patrol (CHP) administered program to provide funds to County Administrators for the removal of abandoned vehicles from within their counties by imposing a $1 registration fee for all vehicles registered within the county. The fees are collected by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) at the request of the AVA Authority.

The Solano Transportation Authority is the AVA Authority for Solano County and most of its member cities. The following cities and jurisdictions participate in the STA’s AVA program: Benicia, Dixon, Fairfield, Solano County, Suisun City, Vacaville, and Vallejo.