Solano Countywide Local Road Safety Plan 2022

September 20, 2022

The STA Board adopted the countywide Local Road Safety Plan (LRSP) at the Sept. 14, 2022, meeting. The LRSP was adopted in consultation with the seven Solano cities and Solano County and will serve as a framework for organizing stakeholders to systematically identify, analyze, and prioritize roadway safety improvements on local roads. STA’s LRSP identifies high crash locations from January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2020, and recommends safety treatments to reduce the frequency of future fatal and severe injury (KSI) collisions.

An LRSP (or its equivalent Systemic Safety Analysis Report [SSAR] or Vision Zero Action Plan program) is required for the cities of Benicia, Dixon, Fairfield, Rio Vista, Suisun City, Vacaville, Vallejo, and the County of Solano to be eligible to apply for the federal Safe Streets for All (SS4A) Program and to be eligible for future Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP) funding.

At the same Board meeting, the STA Board authorized the submittal of a grant application for the Safe Streets for All (SS4A) Program. The SS4A call-for-projects allowed local agencies to submit applications for either Action Plan Grants or Implementation Plan Grants. STA’s LRSP, in partnership with member agencies, qualifies as an Action Plan as defined by the SS4A Program. The amount authorized for FY22-23 is $1 billion for safety improvement projects that reduce KSI collisions, especially for vulnerable road uses, such as for cyclists and pedestrians.

To view the 2022 Solano Countywide Local Road Safety Plan, click HERE.

Please contact Project Manager Jasper Alve at with any questions or concerns.

Comment Form

Have additional questions or comments on the Solano Countywide Local Road Safety Plan 2022?
Share your feedback using the comment form below.

    1. Your selection below helps verify that this comment is submitted by a person and not a malicious script.